The Crossfire Trilogy – Sylvia Day

WHAT: Bared to You; Reflected In You; Entwined With You (The Trilogy)
AUTHOR: Sylvia Day
PUBLICATION DATE: 1 & 2: 2012; 3: June 4, 2013
PAGES: 1: 352, 2: 338, 3: 368
GENRE: Erotic Romance
RATING: 5 Stars
SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads)
BARED TO YOU: He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…
Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds…and desires.The bonds of his love transformed me, even as i prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart…
REFLECTED IN YOU: Gideon Cross. As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn’t stay away. I didn’t want to. He was my addiction… my every desire… mine.
My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We’d never work. It was too hard, too painful… except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity.
We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession..
ENTWINED WITH YOU: From the moment I first met Gideon Cross, I recognized something in him that I needed. Something I couldn’t resist. I saw the dangerous and damaged soul inside–so much like my own. I was drawn to it. I needed him as surely as I needed my heart to beat.
No one knows how much he risked for me. How much I’d been threatened, or just how dark and desperate the shadow of our pasts would become.
Entwined by our secrets, we tried to defy the odds. We made our own rules and surrendered completely to the exquisite power of possession…

MY REVIEW:

If you loved the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy, you will definitely love this one!
As I started to read the first book in this hooking trilogy, I noticed it was very similar to something I have read before. I didn’t have to think about it too long, or at all, to realise the storyline was very similar to the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy.
At times I thought it was a copycat story, but as much as it was similar to the Fifty Shades Trilogy, it was very much different as well.

As much as I loved the Crossfire Trilogy on its own, I have no choice but to make this review as a comparison to the Fifty Shades Trilogy, because that’s what this story made me do while reading all three books. I was constantly comparing the two stories because it was always reminding me of Fifty Shades of Grey.

I found myself reading book one and saying “Not in this book too!” Because without giving too much away, the Dom/Sub that was introduced in Fifty Shades of Grey, was also present in the Crossfire series, but not to the same extent. As much as Fifty Shades of Grey was based on the Dom/Sub storyline and his red room of pain playroom, the Crossfire series wasn’t, but there was a room set aside especially for certain things to be done in.

The names did not sit right with me at all the whole time I was reading the trilogy. I felt like renaming them because they just didn’t work. Gideon Cross is not a sexy memorable name that rolls off the tongue like Christian Grey does. I found myself forgetting his name sometimes. And Eva Tramell isn’t so great either, when you compare it to Anastasia Steele.

I’m not sure if the author, Sylvia Day, intended to be annoying while writing this trilogy, or simply didn’t re-read her work once finished to notice that she introduced characters and places in book one, and then when they were mentioned again in books two and three, she re-introduces them all over again like they are being brought into the story for the first time. We already know what they look like, we already know what the place looks like, that made me shake my head (literally) while reading.

I guess she might have written it that way so if you read any of the books alone, they would still make sense without having to read all the books in the trilogy, but a trilogy is just that – a trilogy, You shouldn’t be able to read any of the books alone without it making sense. You should have to read each book from beginning to end so that the story unfolds continuously. Just like it did in Fifty Shades of Grey. Those three books just all kept rolling on, from one book to the other.

None the less, I enjoyed reading the Crossfire trilogy, It had me glued to it from page one, and I didn’t put them down until I was finished.
Book three finished with some unanswered questions, hence the reason book four (Captivated By You) is in the making and should be released by the end of this year. Not only that, but there is also a book five in the making, I’m not sure how far Sylvia Day can stretch out this story, but I’m looking forward to finding out!

You can purchase the Crossfire Trilogy from Amazon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

